Funding Mechanisms for Large Fires



This subcommittee will focus on evaluating funding mechanisms for effective response to large fires, with consideration given to appropriate cost-share agreements, financial contributions, mitigation and preparedness, mutual aid participation, and local action plans. In addition, the subcommittee will review the current emergency fire fund (EFF) program and provide recommendations to make it more inclusive of counties throughout the state.

Upcoming Meetings



Via Zoom - Please email fire_commission@state.co.us if you would like the login information.

Previous Meeting Notes


November 6, 2019


January 6, 2020


February 12, 2020


June 11, 2020


June 11, 2020


September 15, 2020


October 30, 2020



December 7, 2020


February 1, 2021


June 29, 2021


Subcommittee Members


Captain Paul Amundson, Evergreen Fire Chief Bob Baker, South Metro Fire, CFC Member

Erin Claussen, DFPC Branch Chief of Incident Business Pam Feely, West Metro Board, CFC Member

Chief Brita Horn, Rock Creek Fire, CFC Member Sheriff KC Hume, Moffett County, CFC Member

Wildland Fire Management Section Chief Vaughn Jones, DFPC, CFC Member Director Mike Morgan, DFPC, CFC Member

Sheriff Sean Smith , La Plata County, CFC Member, Subcommittee Chair Chief Jess Solze, Hugo Fire

Sarah Thorsteinson, Summit County Realtors, CFC Member Commissioner Ben Tisdel, Ouray County, CFC Member

Rick Wetzel, Timberline Fire Board